SQL 2005 Database Design

• Hi all

Before I start, let me just point out that I am new to proper database design work. At present I am a Analyst Programmer, but primarily focus on UI design and usability for web applications.

However, recently I have been tasked with building a customer/contacts database which will later incorprate a ticketing type system to monitor customer quieries relating to Clinical Sessions.

My questions at this point relate to data integrity. I have read numerous articles, bought various books and therefore understand the prinicples around normalisation and general design principles but am not sure of the actual way to implement these ideas.

For example (this is just an example that I have been working on to make sure I understand what I am doing first), in the code below I have created date, created by user etc... with a row guid. I can understand this here as it keeps important records unique BUT in a table like "ContactAddress" where "Contact" and "Address" are separate tables by themselves are these extra 5 columns essential? Certain articles say yes, others say no. Which one is correct?

-- =================================================================

-- Create Schemas

CREATE SCHEMA [Contract]

GO

CREATE SCHEMA [Person]

GO

-- Create Table: Person.Contact

CREATE TABLE [Person].[Contact] (

[ContactID] [int] IDENTITY(1,1) NOT NULL CONSTRAINT [PK1_ContactID] PRIMARY KEY (ContactID),

[ClientID] [int] NOT NULL CONSTRAINT [KF1_ClientID] FOREIGN KEY REFERENCES Contract.Client(ClientID),

[JobTitle] [nvarchar](30) NULL,

[Department] [nvarchar](30) NULL,

[Salutation] [nvarchar](25) NULL,

[ProfessionalTitle] [nvarchar](10) NULL,

[FirstName] [nvarchar](50) NOT NULL,

[MiddleName] [nvarchar](50) NULL,

[LastName] [nvarchar](50) NOT NULL,

[PublicNote] [varchar](255) NULL,

[PrivateNote] [varchar](255) NULL,

[IsActive] [bit] NOT NULL,

[DateCreated] [datetime] NOT NULL DEFAULT (getdate()),

[CreatedByUser] [int] NOT NULL,