splitting long sentence into multiple lines

• I am new to MS Sql. I am trying to find a function which will split a long sentence into multiple sentences of fixed length...

For example

'This is a long sentence and I want to split it into multiple sentences of 25 character each with out splitting a word into multiple lines'

needs to be split as

'This is a long sentence'

'and I want to split it'

'into multiple '

'sentences of 25'

'character each with '

'out splitting a word '

'into multiple lines'

Any help on this is greatly appreciated.

regards

giri

• giri,

If you'd share the business reason behind this requirement (I'm always curious), I believe I may have a way to pull it off.

--Jeff Moden

RBAR is pronounced "ree-bar" and is a "Modenism" for Row-By-Agonizing-Row.
    First step towards the paradigm shift of writing Set Based code:
    ________Stop thinking about what you want to do to a ROW... think, instead, of what you want to do to a COLUMN.

Change is inevitable... Change for the better is not.

Helpful Links:
    How to post code problems
    How to Post Performance Problems
    Create a Tally Function (fnTally)

• The data needs to get pulled into a columnar report. There are 5 columns of fixed length. When the data gets into this report, I don't want the words to get split into 2 lines as it would affect the readability. One way of doing this is by manipulating the front end application. The other way which I thought was easier one was through the stored procedures.

• I am SO sorry about this post. I totally lost track of it. Thank you for taking the time to explain. I've got the code somewhere... I just need to find it again.

--Jeff Moden

________Stop thinking about what you want to do to a ROW... think, instead, of what you want to do to a COLUMN.

Helpful Links:

• Found it. Again, sorry for the delay.