sp_updatestats causing bad statistics updates?

• Hi All,

This is my first post - and I am quite new to the DBA type role. I've got a query about updating statistics I was hoping you could help me with.

One of the database servers I am aiding in management of is having issues after an sp_updatestats is run across all the databases - after a while we get high CPU and resources, etc. After running sp_updatestats again on one of the larger databases it calms down. It seems to be triggered by the original sp_updatestats run.

Is there any bugs that might be causing this? The version run is SQL2005 Enterprise, 64 bit Edition, 9.00.3239.00

I have read that upping the resampling size could help create a more accurate stats update - but we also have auto update statistics and autocreate statistics set to true, and auto update statistics asynchronously set to false. From other posts I have read, if I was to run a FULL sample - it will only work for the one run - then the next set would be a smaller set as required - so the sp_updatestats even if we select the resample option would still be from the smaller set.

Has anyone experienced anything like this, and have any suggestions?

• Firstly - I'd personally have async set to on. With this option, a copy of the old stats are held while the new stats are being generated and used by SQL Server to service requests that would otherwise be blocked.

Also, when you run the update, queries in cache which are affected by the update (basically, rely on the updates stats) will be recompiled to take advantage of the new stats when next run which will have an impact for a while

• Why are you running sp_updatestats on the database? why these cant be done off peak hours. If you really require more complex index maintenance (if the size is big) try any of the scripts available in scripts section.