Software Has Bugs

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item Software Has Bugs

• Famous last words: "I just found the last bug!" Yeah, right. Hope springs eternal though.

Every piece of software, bar the most trivial, has bugs. And every piece of untested software, even the most trivial, has bugs. Prove me wrong.

It also strikes me that disaster recovery  plans are vey like computer programs in this respect. Every untested DR plan has bugs.

MarkD

• Really folks, I don't know what you're talking about, my software really has no bugs. *

* As long as you define bugs in the same way I do.

• Forty years ago, when I started programming.  My boss and I were discussing a bug found in my software.  At the end of the meeting he said remember this: "There Are NO Undetected Bugs!" .  Still holds true today.

• I once heard the metric for the number of bugs in a thoroughly  tested and debugged program was something like 1 per thousand lines of code. And that's for a thoroughly tested program.

Lord knows what it is for something freshly minted. 🙂

I suspect DevOps is actually worse than average at spotting bugs, simply because of the pace of development. Regression testing and eyeball Mk. I can only catch so much, and what it does catch is stuff we've seen before, leaving vast realms of the unsuspected for boojums to lurk in.

• call.copse - Tuesday, June 13, 2017 3:54 AM

Really folks, I don't know what you're talking about, my software really has no bugs. *

Ah, yes. No bugs, but many features. Many of them, I didn't even know I'd put there.

Just my genius showing.

MarkD

• call.copse - Tuesday, June 13, 2017 3:54 AM

Really folks, I don't know what you're talking about, my software really has no bugs. *

And only test my code exactly the same way I did. Then, no bugs! 😛

Kindest Regards, Rod Connect with me on LinkedIn.

• Reminds me of this classic Dilbert cartoon.

Kindest Regards, Rod Connect with me on LinkedIn.