slow query

• Hi All,

I have some issue with a slow running query and im quite new to tuning and have no idea how to proceed with this. For some reason I cant attach the plan file with this post and hence sharing the drive link to the plan

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1zx-vhscuW1DcPNyIzJqak7hy0ufPwI9N?usp=sharing

After referring the internet, tried creating some nonclustered index and updated statistics but it didn't help out. Please help

Thanks in advance

NB

• This topic was modified 3 years, 8 months ago by  thenewbee.
  • There isn't a simple answer to this one, but the first thing that sticks out is the excessive cardinality in thee scan and seek operators, hundreds of millions of rows. Best guess is to try to limit those first before looking at anything else.

😎

A query such as this one, with roughly 20 objects, can easily take days of work to optimise, my advice is to go for the greatest costs first and avoid being sidetracked on issues that may not be important in the grand scheme of things.

• Hi Erikur,

The view is actually a datasource for an SSRS report and it has the date from and to filters. So the view is supposed to bring back all the records and then filtered before rendering SSRS report.

The greatest cost I can see is for a sort operation( please correct me if I'm wrong), can you please advise how to proceed.

Thanks

• For me, the link provided by the OP doesn't point to an SQLPlan file.Β  It points to a file but SQL Server doesn't recognize it as an SQLPlan.

Eirikur, what did you use to interrogate the file?

--Jeff Moden

RBAR is pronounced "ree-bar" and is a "Modenism" for Row-By-Agonizing-Row.
    First step towards the paradigm shift of writing Set Based code:
    ________Stop thinking about what you want to do to a ROW... think, instead, of what you want to do to a COLUMN.

Change is inevitable... Change for the better is not.

Helpful Links:
    How to post code problems
    How to Post Performance Problems