Simplifying a CASE statement

• Hi  I'm new to CASE statements and wondering if the following can be simplified:

SELECT   CASE WHEN ExchangeRate > 0 THEN Sales_Price / ExchangeRate ELSE Sales_Price END AS Sales_Price,
          CASE WHEN ExchangeRate > 0 THEN TransCost / ExchangeRate ELSE TransCost END AS TransCost,
         CASE WHEN ExchangeRate > 0 THEN CostPrice / ExchangeRate ELSE CostPrice END AS CostPrice,
          CASE WHEN ExchangeRate > 0 THEN (Sales_Price / ExchangeRate) * Total_Kilo_Weight ELSE Sales_Price * Total_Kilo_Weight END AS TotalSales,
          CASE WHEN ExchangeRate > 0 THEN (CostPrice / ExchangeRate) * Total_Kilo_Weight ELSE CostPrice * Total_Kilo_Weight END AS TotalCost
    FROM    dbo.Sales_Order_Products

Thanks, Lorna

• Lorna

This will reduce the number of CASE expressions.  Whether it's actually simpler is for you to decide!

WITH RemoveZeros AS (
        SELECT
            CASE ExchangeRate
                WHEN 0 THEN 1
                ELSE ExchangeRate
            END AS NonZeroRate
        ,    Sales_Price
        ,    Transcost
        ,    CostPrioce
        ,    Total_Kilo_Weight
        FROM dbo.Sales_Order_Products
        )
    SELECT
        TransCost / ExchangeRate AS TransCost,
        CostPrice / ExchangeRate AS CostPrice,
        (Sales_Price / ExchangeRate) * Total_Kilo_Weight AS TotalSales,
        (CostPrice / ExchangeRate) * Total_Kilo_Weight AS TotalCost
    FROM RemoveZeros

John

• Here's another way - it works exactly the same way as John's code but makes fewer changes to the original:

SELECT

Sales_Price / x.ExchangeRate AS Sales_Price,

TransCost / x.ExchangeRate AS TransCost,

CostPrice / x.ExchangeRate AS CostPrice,

(Sales_Price / x.ExchangeRate) * Total_Kilo_Weight AS TotalSales,

(CostPrice / x.ExchangeRate) * Total_Kilo_Weight AS TotalCost

FROM dbo.Sales_Order_Products

CROSS APPLY (SELECT ExchangeRate = ISNULL(NULLIF(ExchangeRate,0),1)) x