Show Top 5 using subquery

• I am new to SQL and I wanted to create a view the problem I have is the "Group by". Currently my data is showing:

Customer Invoice Date Amount

AJAX 5/1/2016 $500

What I really want to do is enter a parameter from 1/1/2016 to 8/31/2016 and show the Top 5 customer sales I don't need to show the invoice date only for inputting date all I want is the following:

Customer Amount

AJAX $10,000

ACME 8,000

ACE 5,000

Code

SELECT CUSMS_1.CMCSNM AS Customer, CAST(CAST(HSHED.OAIPDT AS CHAR(8)) AS DATE) AS [Invoice Date], SUM(HSDET.OBLNAM)

AS Amount

FROM HSDET INNER JOIN

HSHED ON HSDET.OBCONO = HSHED.OACONO AND HSDET.OBCSNO = HSHED.OACSNO AND HSDET.OBORNO = HSHED.OAORNO INNER JOIN

CUSMS ON HSHED.OACONO = CUSMS.CMCONO AND HSHED.OACSNO = CUSMS.CMCSNO INNER JOIN

ITMST ON HSDET.OBITNO = ITMST.IMITNO INNER JOIN

CUSMS AS CUSMS_1 ON HSHED.OAARCN = CUSMS_1.CMCSNO

WHERE (CAST(CAST(HSHED.OAIPDT AS CHAR(8)) AS DATE) BETWEEN P1 AND P2)

GROUP BY CAST(CAST(HSHED.OAIPDT AS CHAR(8)) AS DATE), CUSMS_1.CMCSNM

Any help will be appreciated. Thank you in advance

• Can you please post the DDL (create table) scripts, sample data as an insert statement and the expected results?

😎

• If you are looking for the top five total amounts, the code below should work. If you are looking for the top five individual sales, there is no need for a GROUP BY. But Eirikur is right. Please read this article before submitting another question:

http://www.sqlservercentral.com/articles/Best+Practices/61537/[/url]

WITH CTE AS

(

SELECT CUSMS_1.CMCSNM AS Customer, CAST(CAST(HSHED.OAIPDT AS CHAR(8)) AS DATE) AS [Invoice Date], SUM(HSDET.OBLNAM)

AS Amount

FROM HSDET INNER JOIN

HSHED ON HSDET.OBCONO = HSHED.OACONO AND HSDET.OBCSNO = HSHED.OACSNO AND HSDET.OBORNO = HSHED.OAORNO INNER JOIN

WHERE (CAST(CAST(HSHED.OAIPDT AS CHAR(8)) AS DATE) BETWEEN P1 AND P2)

GROUP BY CAST(CAST(HSHED.OAIPDT AS CHAR(8)) AS DATE), CUSMS_1.CMCSNM)

SELECT TOP(5) *

FROM CTE