Server collation change, input needed

• Hi all,

This is my first real post and english is not my native language so bear with me. Also this topic is not something i have deep knowledge about as i am not a DBA and only has a couple of years experience with databases.

I'm an SQL developer employed with an european telco, we are in total 4 people working on the legacy platform which is a Db2-platform, our main focus is report-generation and serving up data to the users. The past 1 1/2 half years we have been a part of the project that is to replace the old platform with a new SQL Server 2008. Its' quite a big platform handling/processing hundreds of millions of rows on a daily basis. Size-wize we are talking 40+ terabytes of data in the database from around 20 different sources.

At the moment we are finishing up configuring and loading the data into this new platform from various business applications. Most of the development has been done by external consultants which includes a complete framework built on SQL Server to handle the whole ETL-proces. One of the phases for each source is testing the loaded data by comparing output with known output from the old platform.

The other day one of us experienced a mismatch in this comparison, basicly a select yielded a result that differed from the one we expected...

Old platform:

select count(*) as count ,customer_type from

prod.CUSTOMER

where customer_type like 'LVA%'

group by customer_type

order by customer_type

Output:

countcustomer_type

72LVA1

3LVAB

1LVAC

1LVAD

2LVAE

2LVAF

2LVAG

2LVAH

1LVAJ

4LVAA

New Platform

select count(*) as count,customer_type from

prod.CUSTOMER

where customer_type like 'LVA%'

group by customer_type

order by customer_type

Output:

countcustomer_type

72LVA1

3LVAB

1LVAC

1LVAD

2LVAE

2LVAF

2LVAG

2LVAH

1LVAJ