Selecting Certain Part of a string

• Good afternoon all,

Hopefully you can help, I will admit firstly however that I know barely nothing about SQL. 🙂

Basically I am trying to get names from a string, however I need to remove the first few characters from the left, this is fine as it is always the same amount of characters(CN=), however I also need to remove from the right, I have tried doing this with CHARINDEX however getting a little stuck as the number of characters can change.

I have tried various things like using substring etc but as I am completely new to SQL getting a little stuck

CN=Some Person,OU=Sales,OU=Some Company - SK,OU=Companies - Some Company,OU=Accounts - Companies,OU=Some department,DC=somedomain DC=co,DC=uk

Hopefully you can help 🙂

Thanks

• The safest way to do this imo is to look for the first occurrence of ',OU=' in a case-sensitive way.

declare @testnvarchar(max)=N'CN=Some Person,OU=Sales,OU=Some Company - SK,OU=Companies - Some Company,OU=Accounts - Companies,OU=Some department,DC=somedomain DC=co,DC=uk';

select substring(@test, 4, charindex(N',OU=' collate Latin1_General_CS_AS, @test, 4)-4) some_name;

Aus dem Paradies, das Cantor uns geschaffen, soll uns niemand vertreiben können

• Hi ScDecade thanks for the reply,

Thanks for your reply, just to check, if I declare the @test-2 variable with the example above, I assume that will just reference that string.

The actual CN values can differ quite substantially, can I just reference the Column name in the variable?

Thanks

• Give it a try and see!  🙂  Yes it should work like:

select
    substring(@test, 4, charindex(N',OU=' collate Latin1_General_CS_AS, st.some_column, 4)-4) some_name
    from
    some_table st;

• This reply was modified 4 years, 3 months ago by  Steve Collins.

• Here is a quick and simple suggestion for a solution

😎

USE TEEST;
    GO
    SET NOCOUNT ON;