Search query based on four parameters.

• [PLEASE NOTE: I HAVE ALREADY POSTED THIS QUESTION IN THE SQL 2016 SECTION, HOWEVER TSQL HAS ROUGHLY 60 TIMES THE NUMBER OF HITS. APOLOGIES FOR THE ERROR.]

Hello all,

After searching for possible solutions, I haven't found anything that provides me with what I'm after. I'm fairly new to SQL, so apologies for the newbie question. I have been given the task of providing a search tool (via SSRS) within a dataset that is comprised of a number of fields. The search tool itself will be based on four parameters: identifier, forename, surname and Date. Please see the original search code below, which is too restrictive. What I need, is a search query that is based on ALL the combinations possible from the four search parameters.

How many possible combinations do you think there will be? Am I right in saying 15?

Is it possible to rewrite the code that encapsulates all these combinations in a concise way?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

ORIGINAL QUERY:

SELECT Source_System, Identifier, Forename, Surname, Date etc....

FROM tblTable

WHERE

(Identifier = @identifier

OR Date = @date

OR Forename LIKE '%'+@for+'%'

OR Surname LIKE '%'+@sur+'%')

SAMPLE DATASET

USE [DATABASE]

GO

SET ANSI_NULLS ON

GO

SET QUOTED_IDENTIFIER ON

GO

CREATE TABLE [dbo].[AAATempTable1](

[Identifier] [INT] NOT NULL,

[Source_System] [VARCHAR](30) NOT NULL,

[Date] [DATETIME] NOT NULL,

[Forename] [VARCHAR](30) NOT NULL,

[surname] [VARCHAR](30) NOT NULL,

PRIMARY KEY CLUSTERED

(

[Identifier] ASC

)WITH (PAD_INDEX = OFF, STATISTICS_NORECOMPUTE = OFF, IGNORE_DUP_KEY = OFF, ALLOW_ROW_LOCKS = ON, ALLOW_PAGE_LOCKS = ON) ON [PRIMARY]

) ON [PRIMARY]

GO

USE [DATABASE]

GO

INSERT [dbo].[AAATempTable1] ([Identifier], [Source_System], [Date], [Forename], [surname]) VALUES (1111, N'A', CAST(N'1798-02-01T00:00:00.000' AS DateTime), N'Dummy', N'Test')

GO