Schema confusion

• I've been a SQL DBA for decades, but I've never used schemas. I've never had a need to. Now I'm working in a pre-existing server that is using them, but I'm not convinced they're being used correctly. I've looked all over the place, including BOL, but can't find my answer.

The problem:

There's a stored procedure that executes an agent job (EXEC msdb.dbo.sp_start_job)

That stored procedure has GRANT EXECUTE ON RunSqlJob_CreateIBMImportFile TO [xxxxxx\RPTGroup_SOES]

xxxxxx\RPTGroup_SOES is defined as a User for the database the sproc lives in

xxxxxx\RPTGroup_SOES is also defined as a Schema for that same database

xxxxxx\RPTGroup_SOES is NOT defined as a Login for the server

I can't figure out what the xxxxxx\RPTGroup_SOES schema even owns, if anything, or who has what permissions to the schema, if anyone.

I know that I may have actually just described 2 separate problems/concepts

The lead developer has another developer testing the sproc in SSMS and this is the exact verbiage I was given...

"229 is ‘The %ls permission was denied on the object '%.*ls', database '%.*ls', schema '%.*ls'.’ You are a member of the RPTGroup_SOES AD group so you should have execute permissions."

1st off, I don't know what all the %blah blah ls% blah is supposed to translate to, but I do get that it's a permissions issue surrounding RPTGroup_SOES.

I also gather that there is an Active Directory group named RPTGroup_SOES, but if that is the case, why not create a server-level Login for that group? What does the schema have to do with the AD group?

Ultimately, my goal is to figure out what has to have what permissions to make this sproc successfully execute, so it will successfully execute the sql agent job.

• robin.pryor (3/27/2014)