Schedule Report After Data Is Processed

• I'm new to SSRS and I'm trying to figure out how to have a report delivered once the data is ready. The current environment is set up so that all source data is imported and then a stored procedure executes once that is imported which manipulates the data in a table for the report. The SSRS report should only run once that stored procedure is executed. Therefore, scheduling it for the same time every day will not work. The destination of the report will be on a shared drive. Is this possible?

• RonMexico - Monday, March 25, 2019 8:37 AM

I'm new to SSRS and I'm trying to figure out how to have a report delivered once the data is ready. The current environment is set up so that all source data is imported and then a stored procedure executes once that is imported which manipulates the data in a table for the report. The SSRS report should only run once that stored procedure is executed. Therefore, scheduling it for the same time every day will not work. The destination of the report will be on a shared drive. Is this possible?

Get the stored procedure to write a log row to a table with a date stamp.
    Schedule the SSRS process to run at regular intervals. The first step in the SSRS process should check that the last row written to the log table was by the stored procedure. If it wasn't then the process should terminate. If it was then the SSRS process should run followed by the inserting a row into the log table with a date stamp.

• So you are saying if the stored procedure should run at some point between 6 AM - 10 AM then I should schedule the SSRS process to run every 5 minutes (or other interval) during that time looking for the entry in the log table?

• How about creating a schedule for the report, and disabling it, and when the procedure completes, start the job that generates the report?

Michael L John
    If you assassinate a DBA, would you pull a trigger?
    To properly post on a forum: