SAN Replication as DR strategy(SRDF)

• I am quite new to SRDF  technology.Here we use SRDF(SAN replication as DR startegy).I just need to bring the database part(SRDF split and disk demount or mount is done by SA and other team).Could anybody please provide any documnetation or step by step guide to bring DR database online after SRDF split.Its a cluster enviroment.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,

SR

Thanks,
    SR

• Hello, I know this is an older posting but wondered how the SRDF - SQL server combo worked for you. We are considering the same architecture for a DR solution.

• "Could anybody please provide any documnetation or step by step guide to bring DR database online after SRDF split.Its a cluster enviroment."

I have done about 50 SQL Server DR tests using SAN Replication and assumming that everything is being replicated, bringing the DR database online is no different than for a non-DR clustered server, just bring the SQL Server resource group on-line. If there are any SAN resources that are needed but not being replication, then the start-up will fail.

Some cautions:

Make sure that all system databases (except tempdb) are also replicated.

SQL Server start-up parameters need to be manually syncronized between the live and DR servers such as any additional start-up trace flags.

In order to install SQL Server or apply Service Packs or patch, the DR server will need to have all resources in the SQL Server resource group available. If the DR server is not at an identical version to the live, then the start-up will fail.

SQL = Scarcely Qualifies as a Language

• Thanks for the info Carl. A few questions for you when you have a second.

1. Is the SAN replication configured as an incremental snapshot or a complete copy?

2. Does the DB have to shutdown or "freeze" somehow before the replication runs?