RT error 70 Permission Denied

• I'm having some issues with some code modifications I'm making to an application that I inherited.  First off I'm a DBA by trade, so I'm not so great with the whole VB thing, but I'm learning.

I have an ASP application that calls VB6 dlls (com plus components) on my server.  To do some word automation, the components are exported to an application proxy which is installed on the client machines and is referenced by automateword.dll. The changes I made to the app, were very small changing a variable from an int to a long etc... I recompiled everything and the web app seems to work great.

Now, when I export my app proxy, install and try to run automateword scripts I end up with Permission denied errors.  I'm trying to figure out where these are coming from, and due to my inexperience with the language I'm unable to.  Are they coming from a) automateword itself (unlikely, it opens the word doc and saves it no problem), b) the .dll from my app proxy on the client machine (also a bit unlikely because I can reference other things from the local dll.) c) from the com plus application on the server (I'm not sure about this one) or d) from the database (not likely as everything seems to work there).

When I create a test exe I can reference the connection string from my local dll to directly query the database.  When I call a method from the local dll that in turn calls the database I am receiving my permission denied problem.  I can't seem to get any more info than this.  I don't see any permission denied issues in my log files, event viewer or anywhere else.  I'm really at a loss at what could be causing this. 

Anyone with any insights I'd love to hear from you.

Thanks in advance,

-Luke.

Code snippets…

My autoword procedure

Private Sub Command1_Click()

Dim myRS As New ADODB.Recordset

Dim usr As String

Dim MyDll As New localdll.get

Dim errstr As String

usr = "myname"

MyDll.MyMethod errstr, "par1", "par2", myRS, usr