RS in DMZ host

• Hi all

Please excuse me, as I am not a Database Engineer. At the moment we have intranet RS generated from our SQL 2000 server located inside network, my goal is now put RS for external users (Internet) and that is reason why I'd like to put the RS in DMZ area. So Idealy

SQL server --> Firewall -- RS (DMZ)---> Internet

if you all could tell me how to achieve this goal or the resources/ instruciton or anything that could help me. That would be very much appreciated.

Cheers

• There are two items you need to look at:

1. Reporting Services needs to properly authenticate web user. How you maintain this depends on how authentication was handled originally as an internal server. If you used Active Directory, you can maintain this through an open port in the firewall (may or may not be recommended - ask your Network team). If you used local accounts on the box, this should remain the same.

2. Reporting Services needs to connect to its own config database and to reporting datasources. For the config database, you'll need a firewall port opened. This could be 1433 (default) or whatever other port is used (for named instance, cluster, etc). Same with the datasources.

That should get you moving in the right direction. If you have other questions or want more detail, let us know.

Hope this helps,

Scott Thornburg

• Hi Scott

Thanks a lot for your helpful direction.

The authentication, I am not quite sure if the database Eng. used AD or not, but at the moment it seems everyone (internal) can open this report via http://dbs01/reports/pages/folder.aspx.