- house_number

- street_name

2. Street_house_owners containing

- property_ID

- owner_ID

3. Owners containing

- owner_ID

- owner_name

A house may be owned by 1 to 20 different owners, however I want a single record returned showing only the first 5 owners for each house. The resulting record to be showing;

- Property_ID

- House_number

- street_name

- owner_name1

- owner_name2

- owner_name3

- owner_name4

- owner_name5

The above fields form part of a larger selection of fields also relating to the property from other tables.

I have been advised that crosstabs may be used, or cursors, but have no idea how as I am a rank beginner at SQL.

Any help would be most appreciated.

Edited by - Lashams on 12/23/2003 3:46:35 PM

• I didn't try to write this precisely, but the way I've done it looks vaguely like this:

select field1, field2, field3, -- << regular fields

max(case when col1_condition then field4 else null end) as Col1,

max(case when col2_condition then field4 else null end) as Col2,

max(case when col3_condition then field4 else null end) as Col3,

etc.

from table1

inner join table 2 on whatever

group by field1, field2, field3

What happens is the result set (prior to the groupping) contains one row per column. As it groups, the conditional selects only one row for each of the horizontal columns, and the MAX (or sum or whatever works for you) is not really to select a maximum but to be an aggregate -- though if you had multiple roles per horizontal desired column the aggregate may actually do something.

The hard part in your case is to find a condition that detects the 1st, 2nd, 3rd, etc. address. If they have some kind of ordinal values it is easy, if not you may need an inner join over something else like an identity that ranks (e.g. the condition is the number of records with PK less than or equal to the current record for this property, plus one).