Restricting SQL Server TCP/IP Port Range

• Hello, everyone! I am experiencing issues with SQL Server 2005 grabbing hold of random TCP/IP ports and am looking for a way to restrict the ports it can use to a specified range.

Here's some background... I am an interface engineer at a hospital in South Texas, and our interface engine utilizes SQL Server 2005 to temporarily store information about some of the HL7 transactions that we process. The interface engine connects to different applications at specific static TCP/IP ports. Every now and then we have noticed that SQL Server will grab one of those port that we want to connect over, which then prevents us from connecting to the external application. I believe this to be the issue because when this problem occurs I will run a NETSTAT command from the command line and I will see entries like the following:

[font="Courier New"] Proto Local Address Foreign Address State

TCP E5PBLI01:1419 E5PBLI01.valleybaptist.net:ms-sql-s ESTABLISHED

TCP E5PBLI01:1421 E5PBLI01.valleybaptist.net:ms-sql-s ESTABLISHED

TCP E5PBLI01:1431 E5PBLI01.valleybaptist.net:ms-sql-s ESTABLISHED

TCP E5PBLI01:ms-sql-s E5PBLI01.valleybaptist.net:1419 ESTABLISHED

TCP E5PBLI01:ms-sql-s E5PBLI01.valleybaptist.net:1421 ESTABLISHED

TCP E5PBLI01:ms-sql-s E5PBLI01.valleybaptist.net:1431 ESTABLISHED

[/font]

I will see as many as 100 ports listed in NETSTAT as being in use by SQL. The port numbers that SQL Server grabs hold of varies, but it consistently seems to be port numbers below 5000. I know that the engine does not use any ports in the range between 1500 and 2000, and so I'd like to restrict SQL Server to ports in that range. How can I do that? I'm definitely not an expert in SQL Server configuration, and hadn't run across any information in the Help documentation that looked like it would address this.

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

Regards,

Jose'

Interface Engineer

Valley Baptist Health System