Restoring Database from Snapshot on the different Server

• Hi,

I am a SQL DBA in our Company. I found lately that the Database Snapshots can be very useful for our testing environment.

The only problem, I could not find a good way of restoring a snapshot backup from Live to the Testing Server.

We are running SQL Server 2008 and 2012 databases mostly on the Enterprise editions.

Any help (suggestions, scripts) will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Alex

• You can't, that's not how snapshots work.

When you create a database snapshot, any changes you make to the source database of that snapshot, the original version of the page is then copied into the snapshot. Hence all that the snapshot contains is the original version of pages that have changed in the source DB since the snapshot was created.

A revert to snapshot just copies those original pages back into the source database.

Hence if you create a snapshot on your testing DB, it's tied to the testing DB, containing nothing more than the pages which have changed in that test DB. It can't be used to revert any other database because it only knows the changes made to the testing DB.

Snapshots aren't backups.

Gail Shaw
    Microsoft Certified Master: SQL Server, MVP, M.Sc (Comp Sci)
    SQL In The Wild: Discussions on DB performance with occasional diversions into recoverability

We walk in the dark places no others will enter
    We stand on the bridge and no one may pass
  • Thanks Gail,

I probably did not make myself clear.

My purpose is to take a backup of the Live database (that is over 100GB in size), while the site is under maintenance and the database is offline, and restore it over testing database on the other Server.

So, I thought that I maybe can make a use of snapshots (or replicated snapshots), since they are quick in create and restore.

There was an article Online but it was not clear as well.

So, still no luck for me using Snapshots, right?

Thank you.

Alex