Restoring data - remote server - cluster

• I'm new to the clustering technology, so excuse my knowledge on the subject.

I have a active clustered sql server that has a backed up database sitting on it.

Is it possible to be on a remote server and create a mapped drive to the backup file that is sitting on the clustered server?

If so, can you provide a link to examples of this or provide examples?

I currently have to copy the backup to the remote server and then do the restore on the remote server, which seems to me to be a lot of wasted time and a lot of taxation on the network.

Thank you in advance.

Mark

• You need to use the cluster network name which can move from one node in the cluster to another. If you have Server1 and Server2 clustered there would be a network name like ServerCluster. You can access the cluster drives or shares by using the cluster network name:

\\ServerCluster\Backups

To copy to a remote server and restore, you could setup a SQL job on the remote server like so:

Step 1:

xcopy \\ServerCluster\Backups\exampledb.bak C:

Step 2:

RESTORE DATABASE Exampledb

FROM DISK = 'C:\exampledb.bak'

• Instead of Mapping the drive, why not backup the database to the network share directly? An example here

However, it is recommended to backup the database locally to disk and then copy it to the network share

Pradeep Adiga
    Blog: sqldbadiaries.com
    Twitter: @pradeepadiga

• edogg's solution is fine. It depends how many times you need to restore the backups. If its regular then you should schedule it.

If Network traffic is an issue for you or time is then you should schedule copies over night. This could tie into your DR plan as I assume you have the backups on tape somewhere, if it was on another set of storage then you could get it back quickly assuming you dont lose your datacentre.

Steve.

• We have similar setup, backup to the network shared location and restored the same backup to a diff test server for QA testing.