Restore with Recovery option

• All,

I am still fairly new to SQL Server so please pardon the simple questions I may ask on these forums.

As a junior dba I feel it is necessary to have a thorough understanding of t-sql especially for critical procedures such as backups and restores.

I have been recently practicing t-sql backup and restore command scenarios and was curious about the necessity of the Recovery option with the Restore command.

If I have perform a full database restore do I need the WITH RECOVERY option, even though I am not restoring transaction or differential backups?

Also how can I run the RESTORE command and recreate the database I am restore with a different name so that the corrupted database and restored database can sit side by side and both can be queried? Thanks.

Keith

• with recovery is the default, so you do not need to explicitly include it.

To restore to a new name :

restore database newname from disk = 'backup file old database'

with move

(datafile and log file)

check out RESTORE in BOL. And carry on practicing. If u r not sure what happems in a certain scenario, test it out.

---------------------------------------------------------------------

• Let's say you have a backup of DB_NotGood at e:\db_notgood.bak.

If you perform a select name, filename from DB_NotGood.dbo.sysfiles it shows

name filename

NotGood_Data d:\mssqlotgood.mdf

NotGood_Log d:\mssqlotgood.ldf

You can restore the database to another name with the restore command for example

restore database DB_CopyOfNotGood from disk = 'e:\db_notgood.bak'

/*we use with move to change the name of the files so we don't try to overwrite the old*/

with move 'NotGood_Data' to d:\mssql\CopyOfNotGood.mdf',

move 'NotGood_Log' to 'd:\mssql\CopyOfNotGood_Log.ldf'

with stats = 5 /*I like to know it's actually working*/

Shamless self promotion - read my blog http://sirsql.net

• kwoznica (12/16/2008)

All,