RESTORE VERIFYONLY

• I manually ran RESTORE VERIFYONLY on a few of my full backups today, just because I've never done it before and wanted to see the results. 🙂

Does anyone else do this on a regular basis?

If RESTORE VERIFY indicates a problem with a backup, what should be done to fix the problem?

It appears that there is no return value like you would get from a stored proc or function, just a message that looks like the output of a PRINT statement. If I wanted to run RESTORE VERIFY on my backups in some sort of automated fashion, I'm thinking I'd have to parse the returned message. This seems a bit clumsy. Is there a better way?

• Let me know if you find a solution to this. I was also looking into automating the RESTORE VERIFY.

• Dave Mason (2/9/2010)

Does anyone else do this on a regular basis?

If you don't verify your backups, it means you have no idea if they will restore when necessary. Means you could have a disaster situation, confidently reach for the backups only to have them fail

If RESTORE VERIFY indicates a problem with a backup, what should be done to fix the problem?

Take a new backup.

Just note that RESTORE VERIFY does not actually check the entire file, it checks some headers. It's possible for RESTORE VERIFY to succeed and RESTORE to fail. I believe the exception to that is when the backup is taken with the CHECKSUM option.

Gail Shaw
    Microsoft Certified Master: SQL Server, MVP, M.Sc (Comp Sci)
    SQL In The Wild: Discussions on DB performance with occasional diversions into recoverability

We walk in the dark places no others will enter
    We stand on the bridge and no one may pass
  • Dave Mason (2/9/2010)