Requesting help with troublesome SQL Server Lockup

• Problem Description: Every 2 to 3 days I come in and find that I can't connect to my SQL instance with time out errors. The services (SQL Server and SQL Server Agent) seem to be running fine.

I am able to connect using the DAC (Dedicated Administrator Connection) to the activity monitor and also a single query window which allows me to run some diagnostics but so far I am unable to track the source of the lockup. Probably because I'm not experienced with understanding the output of the activity monitor and the resultant output files from my queries.

I have at least 3 snapshots of the following query results which I can share to assist in troubleshooting along with some screen shots of the activity monitor. Currently available are:

sys.dm_exec_connections.rpt

sys.dm_exec_requests.rpt

sys.dm_exec_sessions.rpt

sys.dm_os_wait_stats.rpt

sys.dm_os_wait_tasks.rpt

sys.dm_trans_locks.rpt

I also have a dump of sysjobsteps.rpt to look up relevant job information from the above files.

My big problem is that I'm not experienced or knowledgeable enough to look at these result files and pinpoint what is actually causing the server to hang/refuse connections.

Some other information that might be relevant:

- We reboot our server every night at 8PM.

- Several of our jobs run against Linked Servers (foxpro, access and proprietary) and it may be that the first Linked Server job to run after the reboot is starting the hang process but I'm unsure and can't back up this idea.

I'm really hoping someone can assist with this issue as it's been going on for over a month and I'm completely out of ideas. I am willing to provide whatever information is required to assist with the troubleshoot. I have attached a rar file that contains the latest dump of the above mentioned rpt files.

Thank you very much for even reading all of this message.

Best regards,

- D

Operating System: Windows Server 2003 Standard