Reports within SQL 2005 Integration Services

• I'm just starting to learn SQL IS 2005 after years of DTS programming.

In DTS, I wanted to create some reports that would summarize the results of a database load process (files received, records processed, statistical summaries of the data just loaded to make sure the numbers make sense). To do this, I created a custom task that leveraged Crystal Reports 9 functionality to create a report and export the report to a PDF. I then used the email task (with the PDF as an attachment) to distribute to the people charged with monitoring the DTS uploads

Would love to get some different options on how to do this type of thing in SSIS 2005?

1) Could create the report in SSRS and fire it from SSIS. I've just briefly looked into this, appears to be bit tricky.

2) I've tried to replicate by Crystal Reports solution but having some trouble. Cannot access the Crystal components to add as a task for the Script task.

• How about creating the SSRS report and setup the report to run at a particular time after the job has had a reasonable amount of time to complete?

• We actually have a number of stored procedures that modify data every night and then the SSRS reports are setup to kick off at pre-scheduled times either every morning or once per week. They were all setup, prior to my arrival, with the assumption that the SP would complete without errors. Perhaps not the best method of doing things but you could have a log table that could be included in the report to indicate whether or not the last run successfully completed.

• Yes, I understand the SSRS type solutions to create the report and run it.

However,

1) Is there anyway for me to trigger the creation of the SSRS report from SSIS as the last step of the SSIS process?

2) Have that report export its results to PDF

3) Be able to point the SSIS email task to the resulting PDF to include as an attachment?