Rename server after renaming host

• Hello,

I know this seems like a basic question and a lot has been written on this, but I am new to some of the SQL-Server stuff.

We made a virtual clone of our SQL server - not connected to the network. Renamed the Host from MSC11SRV01095 to SSSTest.
    When we connected the server to the network the production users have been disrupted (as I expected).

I  followed this article to make the necessary changes:
    http://www.sqlservercentral.com/blogs/mssqlfun/2014/07/29/rename-or-change-sql-server-standalone-named-instance/
    My server is now disconnected from the network and here is the status of my SSSTest server:
    1) exec sp_dropserver[MSC11SRV01095]
         exec sp_addserver[SSSTest],local
    2) This statement :
    Select @@ServerName ServerName, Host_name() HostName
    Returns:
    MSC11SRV01095 (old value!!!), SSSTest  (correct new value)

3) Object Explorer is showing the change, so Instance name is SSSTest.

Is it now safe to connect the server to the network?
    Why is @@servername still showing the old value?
    When checking services.msc the services are showing "SQL Server (MSSQLSERVER)" as on the production box, is this OK?

Thanks,
    Richard

• Did you restart SQL after sp_drop and sp_addserver? You need to. 
    Be sure to perform the SP steps:

sp_dropserver <old_name>;GO
    sp_addserver <new_name>, local;GO

When checking services.msc the services are showing "SQL Server (MSSQLSERVER)" as on the production box, is this OK? refers to the instance name, unless you named it LOCALHOST\DIFFERENTNAME it will show up as MSSQLSERVER, the default instance name.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------