Remove successive rows with same column value

• Hello everyone, I'm a beginner in SQL and i have difficulty to find solution for the folowing problem:

I'd like to do a SELECT which eliminate successive rows having the same "stat" and keep only the last occurrence.

To make myself better understood, I give you this example:

My table Results

idLigne | id | statut idLigne | id | statut

L1 1 A L2 1 A

L2 1 A L6 1 B

L3 1 B L7 1 A

L4 1 B ====> L8 1 B

L5 1 B

L6 1 B

L7 1 A

L8 1 B

Thank you

• Hi,

Try:

with CTE as

(

select

idLigne,

id,

statut,

ROW_NUMBER() OVER(PARTITION BY id, statut ORDER BY idLigne) AS 'RowNo'

from MyTable

)

select * from CTE where RowNo = 1

Hope this helps.

• I'm guessing something like this:

/*

My table Results

L1 1 A L2 1 A

L2 1 A L6 1 B

L3 1 B L7 1 A

L4 1 B ====> L8 1 B

L5 1 B

L6 1 B

L7 1 A

L8 1 B

*/

create table dbo.MyTest (

idLigne char(2),

id int,

statut char(1)

);

go

insert into dbo.MyTest

values ('L1',1,'A'),('L2',1,'A'),('L3',1,'B'),('L4',1,'B'),('L5',1,'B'),('L6',1,'B'),('L7',1,'A'),('L8',1,'B');

go

select * from dbo.MyTest;

go

-- Assumption based on data from OP: ifLigne is an ever increasing value for ordering the data

with BaseData as (

select

ROW_NUMBER() over (order by idLigne) rownum,

idLigne,

id,

statut

from

dbo.MyTest

)

select

bd1.idLigne,

bd1.id,

bd1.statut

from

BaseData bd1

left outer join BaseData bd2

on (bd1.rownum = bd2.rownum - 1

and bd1.id = bd2.id

and bd1.statut = bd2.statut)

where

bd2.rownum is null

;

go

drop table dbo.MyTest;

go

• Sorry, my suggestion is completely wrong.

• i was attacking it the same way lynn was and my code is very similar. i may suggest making idLigne an INT instead of a VARCHAR as that would eliminate the need for the CTE to row_number() to get nice INT's for the join math.