Remote Query Performance Tuning

• I have a stored procedure that runs a remote query to fill a temp table. It is by far the most IO and CPU intensive query on my server. Hopefully someone can help me understand how to optimize this query. The remote table has a bit over 3 million rows. Looking at the execution plan the remote scan is 97% of the query cost. I'm thinking that I should be able to select just a subset of that table rather than the whole thing but I am still trying to decipher the CTE (I'm still relatively new to them and find their syntax baffling). Thank you for your help.

Nathan

This is the remote table definition

USE [usascada]

GO

/****** Object: Table [dbo].[FloatTable] Script Date: 06/09/2010 10:04:17 ******/

SET ANSI_NULLS ON

GO

SET QUOTED_IDENTIFIER ON

GO

SET ANSI_PADDING ON

GO

CREATE TABLE [dbo].[FloatTable](

[DateAndTime] [datetime] NULL,

[Millitm] [smallint] NULL,

[TagIndex] [smallint] NULL,

[Val] [float] NULL,

[Status] [varchar](1) NULL,

[Marker] [varchar](1) NULL

) ON [PRIMARY]

GO

SET ANSI_PADDING OFF

USE [usascada]

GO

/****** Object: Index [FloatTableIndex] Script Date: 06/09/2010 10:04:52 ******/

CREATE CLUSTERED INDEX [FloatTableIndex] ON [dbo].[FloatTable]

(

[DateAndTime] ASC

)WITH (PAD_INDEX = OFF, STATISTICS_NORECOMPUTE = OFF, SORT_IN_TEMPDB = OFF, IGNORE_DUP_KEY = OFF, DROP_EXISTING = OFF, ONLINE = OFF, ALLOW_ROW_LOCKS = ON, ALLOW_PAGE_LOCKS = ON, FILLFACTOR = 70) ON [PRIMARY]

USE [usascada]

GO

/****** Object: Index [TagIndex] Script Date: 06/09/2010 10:05:15 ******/

CREATE NONCLUSTERED INDEX [TagIndex] ON [dbo].[FloatTable]

(

[TagIndex] ASC

)WITH (PAD_INDEX = OFF, STATISTICS_NORECOMPUTE = OFF, SORT_IN_TEMPDB = OFF, IGNORE_DUP_KEY = OFF, DROP_EXISTING = OFF, ONLINE = OFF, ALLOW_ROW_LOCKS = ON, ALLOW_PAGE_LOCKS = ON) ON [PRIMARY]

Here is the query

declare @sd datetime;

select @sd = dateadd([day], datediff([day], '19000101', getdate()) - 1, '19000101');

-- create temp tagData table