question about Full and Diff .BAK file sizes ?

• Hi, I'm a beginner DBA.

I created 2 seperate maintenance plans (from SSMS -> Task-> Backup wizard)to backup my database- Full and Diff. Differential .BAK files are created daily from Mon thru Sat, and Sunday Full .BAK file is created. If i understand correct, the Differential database backup is the backup of all the changes made in database from last full backup; it is cumulative itself. so the size of next differential database backup is more than the previous differential database backup.

The size of Full database .BAK file sizes from previous Sunday to next Sunday is growing, which is good. but the next Sunday db Full .BAK file size doesn't add up to be the size of the last Full db .BAK + most recent Diff db .BAK file size.

look below my db file sizes...

1st Sunday - 7.53 MB (Full .Bak file size)

Mon - 2.34 MB (Diff .Bak file size)

Tue - 3.34 MB (Diff .Bak file size)

Wed - 3.78 MB (Diff .Bak file size)

Thur - 4.22 MB (Diff .Bak file size)

Fri - 4.35 MB (Diff .Bak file size)

Sat - 4.47 MB (Diff .Bak file size)

2nd Sunday - 8.10 MB (Full .BAK file size)

shouldn't my 2nd Sunday Full .BAK file size be 12 MB (7.53 MB (1st Sun) + 4.47 MB (Sat) )? but why is it only 8.10 MB (slight change only .57 MB) ?

sorry if i'm asking the basic question. i appreciate if someone can answer my question.

Thanks!

• preetid2 (5/21/2012)

If i understand correct, the Differential database backup is the backup of all the changes made in database from last full backup; it is cumulative itself.

Correct, so in a restore you'd only need to restore the most recent differential backup.

I wouldn't worry about the sizes of the backup files - simple example - differential backup contains info about a deleted row, which takes up space in the differential backup file, but none in the full backup file.