Question about backup/monitoring strategy

• I'm a DBDev turned DBA/Dev now. First DBA at the company and short of a few random backups we have... well thats it. A few random backups.

I'm looking to get things structured and wondering if there are any great strategies or tools that will help with this.

Heres how I see it: Keep track of every DB and what settings varied from default for install and afterward. Basically: DBName, ServerName, LogicalName, FileName, InitialSize, Autogrowth, FilePath, Description of what the DB is for.

Also I want to monitor these installations. If I could run a single query and it would look at 10 servers and ask them all where the files are today, when was the last backup, how much free space, etc.

I can make these queries on one machine just fine, but is there some way to set up a query to run against multiple machines to get all of this information in one data pull? The best I can think of off hand might be using linked servers and union a bunch of queries or create a subreport in RS that gets all of this information from a server and apply the subreport once per server on a report, and of course we'll need a data source per server. I'm not sure if you can switch out datasources based on data provided as a parameter. If not then you would have to have a subreport per server.

Also one last bit here... I know I want to backup ReportServer for RS, but how about system databases? MTFS? Master? Should these be backed up as well?

I really want to get every database onto the same general backup plan, backing up to a central NAS drive in the data center

Ideas are much appreciated 🙂

• That's a lot of questions at once.

My first suggestion, look at setting up a Central Management Server. This will allow you to take control of the other servers from a central point, set up backup & restore, monitoring, policy based management, etc. so that you can get your systems in hand.