Querying a cube

• Hi all,

I am new to cubes and Analysis Services. I know there is a product which comes with Analysis Services (seems something like MDX sample application) which allows us to build MDX queries to query an Analysis Services cube.

Is it possible to query a cube through a T-SQL stored procedure? Any simple way to allow our front-end application to query the cube and display the results to them, other than using Pivot Table Service and Excel?

Thanks a lot,

delpiero

• MDXBuilder is a pure MDX authoring tool. A quick scan of google didn't tell me where you van get it from but you can get a trial version here: http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0471400467/ref=pd_sxp_f/002-9886975-3721645

It is not possible to query a cube from a T-SQL sproc in SQL Server 2000. I think this changes in SQL Server 2005 as you can now issue T-SQL against the UDM (which, for simplification, is what Analysis Services has become).

Excel and PTS is the simplest way to go I find. Anything more than that and you're into the realm of front-end vendors (e.g. Panorama, proClarity, MIS AG) which don't require you to have PTS installed on your client.

-Jamie

• Thanks,

Besides using Excel, how can we utilize the Pivot Table Service through a front-end interface? Is it possible to access the cube or execute an MDX statement using ADO?

delpiero

• You could try this to query a cube using TSQL

sp_addlinkedserver

@server = 'OLAP'

, @srvproduct = ''

, @provider = 'MSOLAP'

, @datasrc = 'servername'

, @catalog = 'foodmart 2000'

select * from openquery

(OLAP, 'select {[Gender].[F], [Gender].[M]} on columns

, {[measures].[Unit Sales]} on rows

from [Sales]') 

• As per BMiller's post, you can definitely query AS2K via TSQL using linked servers (ie use openquery) but you could also try opendatasource (ie don't have to have a permanent linked server).