Query Store SQL 2016

• Hello!

I am new to Query Store feature, once this is enabled it stores data captured in the database.

If I set this policy below, will it purge data once it reaches the 1 GB or keeps the data till 7 days before it purges? Will enabling cause  additional system overhead?

Query Store Retention

• Max Size (MB) : 1024
    • Configure Query Store Capture Mode to “Auto”
    • Configure Sized Bases Cleanup Mode to “Auto”
    • Configure Stale Query Threshold to 7 days

Thanks in advance.

• Check

https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/sql/relational-databases/performance/manage-the-query-store?view=sql-server-ver16&tabs=ssms

It will switch to readonly when the storage limit is reached. It will a bit of system overhead but not much. Currently one of the best ways to identify troublesome queries (because of the low overhead)

• With size based cleanup set to auto, it'll ignore the 7 day limit and clean up the data based on the size.

EDIT!

But, if it doesn't hit the size limit, then the 7 day limit takes over for cleanup. Sorry I left that out.

"The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood"
    - Theodore Roosevelt

Author of:
    SQL Server Execution Plans
    SQL Server Query Performance Tuning

• Thank you for the reply, so does it mean it will be available for 7 days once it reaches it 1 GB limit before it gets cleaned up?

• No. If you have size cleanup enabled, it'll clean up when it runs out of room, not wait the 7 days first.

You get a time-based cleanup and a size-based cleanup. Enabling the automatic cleanup based on size, means, if the size limit is hit before the time limit, you'll get a cleanup. Disabling the size cleanup means you'll only get a time cleanup.