Query performace issues and general optimization queries

• Hi All,

I have a few queries around sql server optimization. a couple are quite specific and a couple are not so 🙂

Firstly, I have a database that I have designed and built as a data store type solution for a number of my companies clients. It has a web front end on it to show the data in a nice format and I create views, on top of my CRUD views, for the application to get this data. This has all been great until the latest project when the quantity of data has hit the 150K - 200K record mark.

I've started to experiance performance issues just doing straight select * from a number of the views the application uses.

One of my major issues seems to be one of my paticular table structures. I basically have a table that stores name and value pair data, I call it a variables table, but effectivly its like a bunch of virtual fields and thier values assocated with the relevant "flat" record by an ID column. I then Pivot this data into a view which presents a record for each "flat" row with all the virtual columns. See table and index defs below for "variables" table:

CREATE TABLE [dbo].[variable_value](

[id] [int] IDENTITY(1,1) NOT NULL,

[vrbl_id] [int] NOT NULL,

[acct_id] [int] NULL,

[cont_id] [int] NULL,

[addr_id] [int] NULL,

[lead_id] [int] NULL,

[last_updated] [smalldatetime] NOT NULL,

[date_value] [smalldatetime] NULL,

[numeric_value] [int] NULL,

[unicode_string_value] [nvarchar](max) NULL,

[string_value] [varchar](max) NULL,

[switch_value] [bit] NULL,

CONSTRAINT [PK_variable_value] PRIMARY KEY NONCLUSTERED

(

[id] ASC

)WITH (PAD_INDEX = OFF, STATISTICS_NORECOMPUTE = OFF, IGNORE_DUP_KEY = OFF, ALLOW_ROW_LOCKS = ON, ALLOW_PAGE_LOCKS = ON) ON [PRIMARY]

) ON [PRIMARY]

GO

SET ANSI_PADDING OFF

GO

ALTER TABLE [dbo].[variable_value] WITH NOCHECK ADD CONSTRAINT [FK_variable_value_account] FOREIGN KEY([acct_id])

REFERENCES [dbo].[account] ([id])

GO