Purpose of the Snapshot Agent in Transactional Replication

• Would someone please tell me which one of these statements is correct:

1. The Snapshot Agent is only necessary in Transactional Replication to do the initial setup (copying) of the data between Publisher and Subscriber and "turns itself off" after this inital setup is complete.

2. The Snapshot Agent in Transactional Replication needs to remain on at all times as periodic snapshots need to be taken in order to "compare the data" between Publisher and Subscriber.

I ask this because our Snapshot takes around 5 hours to complete because of the size of 1 specific table (63M rows), and I am a noob when it comes to replication.

• How about neither, and both?

For the answer neither, you do not need to initialize a subscription with a snapshot. Do a search on this site for initialize replication wihtout a snapshot.

For the answer both, #1 is the "traditional" way of setting up transactional replication. Create the publication, create the subscription, initialize it with a snapshot. It's possible that the snapshot does not need to run again.

With #2, When setting up a publication, one of the options is to set a schedule to run the snapshot. It simply adds a schedule to the snapshot job.

You can certainly run this constantly, but typically this is used to re-sync the subscriptions on a regular basis.

In any case, the agent runs, and when the snapshot has been generated, it shuts down.

Michael L John
    If you assassinate a DBA, would you pull a trigger?
    To properly post on a forum:
    http://www.sqlservercentral.com/articles/61537/

• Thanks, Michael. I wasn't sure if the Snapshot needed to be run in order for the Publisher to be able to "compare" values in tables to values in the Subscriber tables.

I'll search this forum for "initialize replication wihtout a snapshot".