Pros & Cons of backups using Maint. Plans

• Greetings. I am fairly new to SQL Server and I was shown how to do backups as part of a maintenance plan. Subsequently I took a SQL Server class in which the instructor recommended using the backup tool rather than maintenance plans to set up and schedule backups. I have also been reading other sources and the suggestions there don't use maintenance plans for backups. I am very interested in hearing others suggestions comparing using the backup tool as opposed to a maintenance plan.

Thanks.

• Personally I have not seen a use for a backup tool since the maintenance plans have given me all I needed.You should be able to compare from your results

Mike

• I can't compare the two and I don't use the maintenance plans. Why not? I like to control what is done and when. I recently had a vendor do an update that really messed things up. I could no longer put the database in FULL recovery mode. So my transaction log backups failed. Since I don't use a maint. plan, I just disabled my transaction log backup jobs and everything else kept working. I think a maint plan would have completely failed (but I'm not sure) and I would have had to recreate it without the t-log backups. I can also easily change the schedule of any of my jobs without affecting other jobs.

(BTW-I explained to the vendor why the change they made was a BAD idea and they fixed it. So I just turned my t-log backup jobs back on.)

-SQLBill

• The maint plans tend to be difficult to fault find when they fail - the usual error reads " sysmaint.exe failed " Very useful!!

I'd advise not to use them - write it yourself as SQLBill suggests.

[font="Comic Sans MS"]The GrumpyOldDBA[/font]
    www.grumpyolddba.co.uk
    http://sqlblogcasts.com/blogs/grumpyolddba/