Procedure sp_change_users_login error

• Please Help, I am a newbie!

I just upgraded a database from SQL Server 2000 to 2008 R2. The last step I was doing was resolving orphan users. I created the logins and then ran exec sp_change_users_login 'Report'. I had a few orphans so I ran the following code to sync the logins:

DECLARE @UserName nvarchar(255)

DECLARE Cursor_OrphanedUser cursor for

SELECT NAME FROM sysusers WHERE issqluser = 1 and (sid is not null and sid <> 0x01) and suser_sname(sid) is NOT null ORDER BY name

OPEN Cursor_OrphanedUser

FETCH NEXT FROM Cursor_OrphanedUser INTO @UserName

WHILE (@@fetch_status = 0)

BEGIN

PRINT @UserName + ' Synchronization of Logins in Progress'

EXEC sp_change_users_login 'Update_one', @UserName, @UserName

END

CLOSE Cursor_OrphanedUser

DEALLOCATE Cursor_OrphanedUser

Go

It was running for a long time without any new users so I canceled executing the query. I ran the sp_change_users_login for the orphans that were originally reported and then ran sp_change_users_login 'Report' again and no orphans were reported.

I didn't think it would hurt to run the code again but when I executed the same code I now get:

CAI11mNT Synchronization of Logins in Progress

Msg 15289, Level 16, State 1, Procedure sp_change_users_login, Line 75

Terminating this procedure. Cannot have an open transaction when this is run.

CAI12mNT Synchronization of Logins in Progress

Msg 15289, Level 16, State 1, Procedure sp_change_users_login, Line 75

Terminating this procedure. Cannot have an open transaction when this is run.

for many users. I am still able to run sp_change_users_login 'Report' and I was able to run

sp_change_users_login 'Update_one', 'CAI11mNT', 'CAI11mNT' (first user in the errrors) without a problem.

What should I do now?

• chumphrey 12211 (4/12/2012)

SELECT NAME FROM sysusers WHERE issqluser = 1 and (sid is not null and sid <> 0x01) and suser_sname(sid) is NOT null ORDER BY name