Potential set based solution

• Hi all,

I'm a total novice when it comes to thinking about set based queries and something I am trying to achieve might be suitable!

CREATE TABLE PEOPLE
    [PEOPLEID] [bigint] IDENTITY(10000,1) NOT NULL,
    [NAME] [varchar(250)] NOT NULL

CREATE TABLE THING
    [THINGID] [bigint] IDENTITY(10000,1) NOT NULL,
    [NAME] [varchar(250)] NOT NULL

CREATE TABLE PEOPLETHINGS
    [ID] [bigint] IDENTITY(10000,1) NOT NULL,
    [PEOPLEID] [bigint] NOT NULL,
    [THINGID] [bigint] NOT NULL

INSERT INTO PEOPLE
    SELECT 'Mark'
    UNION ALL
    SELECT 'Mary'

INSERT INTO THING
    SELECT 'Someting 1'
    UNION ALL
    SELECT 'Something 2'

What I want to do is insert multiple people and multiple things into people things without multiple round trips, people cannot be inserted twice for the same thing into the peoplethings table.

If I use IN clauses like WHERE PEOPLEID NOT IN (SELECT PEOPLEID FROM PEOPLETHINGS WHERE PEOPLEID IN (ID,ID,ID) AND THINGID IN (ID,ID,ID) that will exclude any people that are already added to ANY thing in the peoplething table.

I dont really want to iterate through every thing and add the people. Is there a better way rather than iterate in the app and do multiple round trips or farm off to a stored procedure loop after splitting the strings of people and things.

Thanks for any help

• You can use the except operator.  Here is an example that is based on your script

CREATE TABLE PEOPLE (
    [PEOPLEID] [bigint] IDENTITY(10000,1) NOT NULL,
    [NAME] varchar(250) NOT NULL);

CREATE TABLE THING (
    [THINGID] [bigint] IDENTITY(10000,1) NOT NULL,
    [NAME] varchar(250) NOT NULL);

CREATE TABLE PEOPLETHINGS (
    [ID] bigint IDENTITY(10000,1) NOT NULL,
    [PEOPLEID] bigint NOT NULL,
    [THINGID] bigint NOT NULL);
    go

INSERT INTO PEOPLE
    SELECT 'Mark'
    UNION ALL
    SELECT 'Mary'

INSERT INTO THING
    SELECT 'Someting 1'
    UNION ALL
    SELECT 'Something 2'

--Inserting first record for mark