Potential issue with runaway index growth

• Hi,I'm pretty new to Azure but less new to SQL Server. We have an Azure SQL database with one table of about 300000 rows. So not huge. But, whilst the data appears to be only a few GB in size, the index on the Primary Key (which is just an int column) has grown to in excess of 50GB. If I insert the data from the table into a new one and recreate the index on there I do not see the index grow to anywhere near that size.

Index maintenance using the Ola Hallengren procedures is in place.

Has anyone experienced similar behavior in the past and found a way of decreasing the size of the index?

Many thanks in advance.

Alex.

• Here's a question.  Why is this a problem?

If the primary key is clustered, it IS the table.

This may be normal.  If you could provide the DDL so we can see the table structure, that may help in diagnosing the cause.

Is this index being rebuilt regularly by the maintenance scripts? Have you captured the fragmentation of the indexes on this table?

Michael L John
    If you assassinate a DBA, would you pull a trigger?
    To properly post on a forum:
    http://www.sqlservercentral.com/articles/61537/

• If your primary key is not the clustered index, this is extremely concerning. If it is, how are you measuring the table size as compared to the index size? As was already said, if that PK defines the clustered index, that is the table (plus the B+ tree of the index, hence why a clustered index will be bigger overall than the just the data stored in it).

"The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood"
    - Theodore Roosevelt

Author of:
    SQL Server Execution Plans
    SQL Server Query Performance Tuning

• alexhdavies wrote: