Please help for auditing

•  

Hi,

I am new to sql server. I would like help from you gurus out their. I wanted to audit the activites (DML) on my database. I wanted the audit to achive the following

1] Audit specific tables for the DML activities.

2] capture the details of the username, time and system from which this query executed.

3] Can i get the changed and the previous values.

4] I don't want to use the triggers.

I did read in some articles this is achivable with the help of SQL-profiler and osql but don't know the exact steps. Could some one provideme with the step by step guide to get this done?

Please help,

Rahul.

• Yes you have to use profiler to do this. You can start profiler from the programs menu move to SQL Server and start from there. You have plenty many options with profiler and exclusive help is available with BOL.

Cheers,
    Sugeshkumar Rajendran
    SQL Server MVP
    http://sugeshkr.blogspot.com

• hi Sugesh,

As i said it earlier i am a novice with sql server would appriciate your help on this. I know thier are lot of options with profilier but don't know what will suit my requirements. and what is BOL? 

thanks,

Rahul.

• Hi,

Check this url below.

http://www.sql-server-performance.com/sql_server_profiler_tips.asp

The above article will help you to understand the events you should add.

BOL= Books online. Its the SQL server help files.

Thanks,

Sachin

• Rahul,

goto profiler then move to events tab,

Select stored procedure - spcompleted, stmtcompleted.

select tsql - stmtcompleted.

move to filters and give the name of the database that you want to monitor

you can save the data to a file or to a table and those will be avialble in general tab.

for anyhelp let me know i shall get back.

Cheers,
    Sugeshkumar Rajendran
    SQL Server MVP

• Thanks Sugesh/Sachin,

I atleast got started. I see some data getting in the trace.

I am having the following issue.