PLEASE HELP- cannot connect to DB, stuck in the middle of moving system DBs

• I was following the steps outlined here but when I went to move the master DB I hadn't yet configured sqlcmd to talk to the DB.

Now I can't use SSMS or SQL Configuration Manager to connect to the DB. All I can do is from the command line.

I can stop or start the default instance using the command line but I need to know how to start the DB with default setup so I can connect with the Configuration manager and/or the surface utility to allow sqlcmd to talk to the DB, so I can complete the master DB data and log file move.

I'm a complete noob and the only SQL DBA we have at work is on vacation for the next week.

BTW, this is a new install on a two node cluster, SQL 2005 std on server 2003.

• I'm not sure I understand what you did.

The steps for master are to shut down the db. Then copy the files to a new location and edit the path in config manager or services and then restart the server. There is no config for config manager or SQLCMd to connect to the server.

• I can't use the gui sql configuration manager to connect and change the startup params, and the surface util wont connect 'in a timely manner'.

I got as far as stopping the DB and then starting it from the cmd line with net start mssqlserver /f /T3608 but then I need to run this command from sqlcmd and I can't get surface util to connect so I can allow sqlcmd.

This is the command I have to run from sqlcmd:

USE master;

GO

alter database mssqlsystemresource MODIFY FILE (NAME = data,FILENAME='NEW PATH\mssqlsystemresource.mdf');

go

alter database mssqlsystemresource MODIFY FILE (NAME = log,FILENAME='NEW PATH\mssqlsystemresource.ldf');

go

alter database mssqlsystemresource set READ_ONLY;

go

• The surface utility does not need to connect.

SQLCMD should connect if the database is started. When you start it from the command line, do you see all databases recover in the command window and the server started?