Permission issue with dts package

• I have a DTS package that one of the developers wants to run.  It will delete a table then recreate it.  Then he will load that table from a file that he will have put in a specific folder. The table must be owned by dbo.  He wants to launch the DTS package when he gets the file.

My first concern is giving him as little permission as possible.  I would prefer, especially since I am an interim dba until they hire someone (I'm a contractor) not to add him to dbowner role.  I would even like to avoid making him a ddladmin in that database even if that would meet our goal.

I created a script that will read a table and launch each job in that table that  has a "RunJob" bit set (there is more to it, but I think this is enough to get the picture).  This developer would call a stored procedure that would set the bit for the specific job that would run the dts package.

I would schedule a job to run that script every minute.

An alternative I have considered is to use a SQL login in the DTS package connection that is a dbowner.

Can anyone think of a downside to this plan?  Is there another way for the developer to run the DTS package within the security constraints I have set.

Russel Loski, MCSE Business Intelligence, Data Platform

• I got around this security concern by creating a SQL Server login with SA authority.  Then create a .bat file which runs the dtsrun command line utility (encrypted) using this login.  The developer can run the .bat file at will.

Take care,

Bert

"Speculations? I know nothing about speculations. I'm resting on certainties. I know that my Redeemer lives, and because He lives, I shall live also." - Michael Faraday

• I had experminented setting the user name and password as an argument in the dtsrun command.  The sql statements in the package still ran as the domain login of the person who ran that dtsrun statement.

• You may need to change the owner of the DTS package?

Take care,

Bert