Performence Problem

• Hi All,

I am new to the SQL Server tuning and facing a critical performence problem.

My environment : Windows 2003 R2 (32 bit OS), SQL 2005 ENT, 8 GB RAM , 8 Processors

AWE not enabled.

My Database size is 1.9 TB. (3 tables having 700 gb data in it)

Queries taking lot of time to finish...

TempDB is having 8 data files and having enough space in it.

Can any one please help me in improving the server performence...

🙁

• Performance tuning is a wide area. There are several books available...

Based on what you've posted so far, it's almost impossible to tell what'S wrong: from hardware issues to bad configured SQL Server to missing indexes to "suboptimal" written queries... the list goes on.

If it's a production system I recommend to get a tuning expert in for a few days. You'll learn a lot more from an experienced person showing you how to perform your system than you could learn just from a few posts here.

Lutz
    A pessimist is an optimist with experience.

How to get fast answers to your question[/url]
    How to post performance related questions[/url]
    Links for Tally Table [/url] , Cross Tabs [/url] and Dynamic Cross Tabs [/url], Delimited Split Function[/url]

• Check if tracing is on... It usually makes the system crawl...

• That's a big area...

If it's critical and you have no idea where to start, consider getting someone in to help. It'll be far more effective in the long run.

Otherwise, this series may give you a place to start...

http://www.simple-talk.com/sql/performance/finding-the-causes-of-poor-performance-in-sql-server,-part-1/

http://www.simple-talk.com/sql/performance/finding-the-causes-of-poor-performance-in-sql-server,-part-2/

Gail Shaw
    Microsoft Certified Master: SQL Server, MVP, M.Sc (Comp Sci)
    SQL In The Wild: Discussions on DB performance with occasional diversions into recoverability

We walk in the dark places no others will enter
    We stand on the bridge and no one may pass