Performance Troubleshooting / Sleuthing Help

• Greetings,

I am a SQL database architect / developer on a rather large web-based application with a SQL Server 2005 database as the backend. The application is OLTP with Reporting included in some areas. I have very limited permissions on the SQL Server environments, with the exception of the development environment. We are having performance trouble in the production environment that began being reported after a 'release', which for us means adding and making changes to db objects - stored procedures, tables, views, etc. What is being reported is timeouts in the web interface when performing operations such as saving changes to data and creating records. As part of my troubleshooting, I have been checking ETL processes and find that several of them have been running longer, sometimes a LOT longer, beginning over a month before the release. Our DBA has been somewhat helpful, but has been unable to provide us a focused, honest troubleshooting effort, IMO (I understand he has bandwidth issues of his own). So I am asking for help in understanding what I am seeing and how to go about intelligently requesting consideration by the DBA.

What I can see:

I can't run any of the DVMs, but from Activity Monitor, I can see there is locking and blocking. The Wait Types reported are almost all Latch_EX and CXPacket. Usually there is one process that blocks another, which then blocks several others. In one example from an ETL process, the 'main' or 'base' blocking ProcessID is showing 9 times with the 1st showing an hour glass, then the next 8 showing a green circle with a check mark. On the row with the hour glass, the wait type is listed as CXPacket (none of the other rows show a Wait Type) and I can dbl-click the row to get the SQL code. In this case, it is a simple update - changing 'N' to 'Y' for 122K+ records.

Code:

UPDATEWorkstation

SETWorkstation.TrackingInfo = 'Y'

FROMOrders WITH (NOLOCK)