Page Break At Start Is Ignored in SSRS 2008

• Hi,

I have recently converted my RDL reports from SSRS 2005 to SSRS 2008. However, it doesn't seem as simple as I expected. My reports work perfectly fine in SSRS 2005, but I begin to get a different PDF rendering output when the reports get converted in SSRS 2008.

I have a master report that contains 20 subreports. There is a List control (Tablix data region) that contains a table on each subreport. The page break options of "Add a page break before" and "Keep together on one page if possible" for the Tablix are checked. I have also added a group to the Tablix and the page break options of "Between each instance of a group" and "Also, at the start of a group" are checked. Every subreport on the master report has the exact same page break setting.

Adding a page break at the start of a group and before the Tablix seems to work WITHIN a subreport, but it is being ignored BETWEEN the subreports in SSRS 2008. When there are multiple rows on one subreport that flow to the second page, the next subreport will start right after the last row of the previous report, instead of a new page.

I have tried to change the page break setting to "at the end of a group" and "add a page break after", it actually resolves the problem that described above, but it brings up another problem of the trailing blank page if the last subreport on the master report contains no data.

In SSRS 2005, the "page break at the start of a group" works between subreports, but it is being ignored in SSRS 2008. Therefore, I was wondering if this is a bug in SSRS 2008.

I'd really appreciate it if there is anyone who can shed some light on this issue.

Thanks a lot!

Jeannette

• I have the same problem. Did you get a solution for this Jeanette? Thanks.