Outer Joins

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item Outer Joins

• *= or

=*

Have been depricated since SQL 2005? long time ago ....

They were part of MS dialect of T-SQL, not compliant with Standard, so they had to go

MCSE Data Platform; BI
    MCITP Database Developer; BI

• ahhh reminded me of migration from 2000 to 2005. All old school queries were needed to fixed at that point of time.

Thanks for the reminding Steve.

• I'm reassured that I've been writing them correctly for many years now.

-------------------------------Posting Data Etiquette - Jeff Moden [/url]Smart way to ask a question
    There are naive questions, tedious questions, ill-phrased questions, questions put after inadequate self-criticism. But every question is a cry to understand (the world). There is no such thing as a dumb question. ― Carl Sagan
    I would never join a club that would allow me as a member - Groucho Marx

• I want to verify what I think is the conclusion with this code. Is the ANSI-89 syntax for joining tables deprecated or just the *= operators. I know it is the incorrect way of writing the code, but will SQL 2014 still recognize the following code. (I ask because I just had a customer ask me this on Tuesday.)

FROM table1, table2

WHERE table1.column = table2.column

• JohnDeardurff (12/17/2015)

I want to verify what I think is the conclusion with this code. Is the ANSI-89 syntax for joining tables deprecated or just the *= operators. I know it is the incorrect way of writing the code, but will SQL 2014 still recognize the following code. (I ask because I just had a customer ask me this on Tuesday.)

FROM table1, table2

WHERE table1.column = table2.column

The ANSI syntax for inline table joining is still supported (though I personally recommend against using it).