Optimizing Stored Procedures that utilize only local variables (and lots of them)

• Our proprietary reporting module calls stored procedures that have no parameters but make extensive use of local variables.

A single query (and many of them are dynamic SQL) may utilize many local variables in the WHERE clause. And some of the stored procs are very complex, containing more than 2000 lines of code.

I'm just beginning to learn the importance of accurate cardinality estimates and am wondering if anyone can share how they might enhance optimization of procs that make extensive use of local variables that can affect the size of result set.

For example, would you have the procs set to recompile each time they are run? Would you make use of "OPTIMIZE FOR.." etc.

I hope this makes sense. Please don't yell at me for not yet posting a code sample. I will be glad to do that when asked. I just want to be sure that whatever I put up is useful.

• Where local variables get their values from?

You should probably post some code. (Pick the simplest of your procedures).

It would be hard to recommend (or not recommend) the use of Optimize or Recompile options. Most people would probably say “it depends” and you’ll have to experiment with those in your environment.

--Vadim R.

• jshahan (8/21/2012)

For example, would you have the procs set to recompile each time they are run? Would you make use of "OPTIMIZE FOR.." etc.

Not by default I wouldn't. I'd look at the procedures (starting with the ones that perform worst) and see if there are any cardinality errors. If there are, I might go for recompile, optimise for or splitting the procedure into sub-procedures. No blanket rule.

Gail Shaw
    Microsoft Certified Master: SQL Server, MVP, M.Sc (Comp Sci)
    SQL In The Wild: Discussions on DB performance with occasional diversions into recoverability

We walk in the dark places no others will enter
    We stand on the bridge and no one may pass
  • jshahan (8/21/2012)