Operator Emails failing but Tests work...

• Hello..

I'm having a problem with scheduled jobs failing and not EMailing the Operator on failure.

1) If I go into "Operators" - my user(I am an operator) properties - and click "Test Email", all works fine and I get the test EMail.

2) If a scheduled job fails, in the job history I get this statement:

"... The last step to run was step 1 (Import_Transactions). NOTE: Failed to notify 'Billy' via email."

Anyone else have this problem ?

I'm using SQL Server 2000:

SQL Enterprise Manager version 8.00.760 (SP3)

SQL-DMO version 8.00.02

-B

• (1) What happens if you try using xp_sendmail from within T-SQL?

(2) Have you tried using xp_stopmail followed by xp_startmail? I've seen some strange behaviour with SQLMail, and this often cures it, particularly if there's been a problem with the Mail / Exchange server.

Thomas Rushton
    blog: https://thelonedba.wordpress.com

• Thanks Tom-

I usually avoid XP_SendMail because it locks things when using a query as part of the output. Before I try the Stop/Stop Mail commands - what do they actually do ?

And yes - we do occasionally have EMail server problems and this refresh sounds like a possible cure. Will dig into the manuals regarding those 2 commands.

- B

• quote:

Thanks Tom-

it's Thomas, please! My father-in-law's Tom, and it all gets a bit confusing...

quote:

I usually avoid XP_SendMail because it locks things when using a query as part of the output. Before I try the Stop/Stop Mail commands - what do they actually do ?

xp_stopmail -- stops the SQLMail session

xp_Startmail -- starts the SQLMail session.

quote:

And yes - we do occasionally have EMail server problems and this refresh sounds like a possible cure.

It works for me quite regularly -- we have regular problems with our Exchange server (something to do with it providing Exchange mailboxes for 400 users, and acting as a backup domain controller, and all this on a P133!