opening a database

• I am new to SQL.

I successfully installed SQL server on a win10 PRO box at home.

I connected to a SQL server instance on my home machine.

I can create a database and work on it as described here:

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/sql/ssms/quickstarts/ssms-connect-query-sql-server?view=sql-server-ver15

However, I want to investigate an already created database from another machine at my office.

I want to be able to create custom reports from that data.

This other database is from an application that creates and manages a schedule.

It runs on a winPro box as well but is in constant use in 'production' so I cannot experiment on it there.

I have copied the DATA folder from that other machine running SQL server to the desktop of my home machine.

How do I open it ?

I tried a real noob thing--

Turned off sql server (in services) , replaced the DATA folder in here:

C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL15.LYTEC_SQL\MSSQL\DATA

with the DATA folder I copied to the desktop.

Restarting sql server gives me an error.

Clearly I dont know what I am doing.

Is there a link somewhere that will explain to me what to do so I can start this other database to explore it (names of the fields,etc) and write reports?

• Thanks for posting your issue and hopefully someone will answer soon.

This is an automated bump to increase visibility of your question.

• skypickle wrote:

I have copied the DATA folder from that other machine running SQL server to the desktop of my home machine.

I reckon your best bet would be to take a BACKUP of the Source Database and then RESTORE that on your machine.

When you do the RESTORE there are options to change the name of the database (you probably don't need to do that) but more importantly the location of the actual files.

The default location puts them under "program files" as per your example

C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL15.LYTEC_SQL\MSSQL\DATA

which I think is a dreadful choice.