OLAP SSAS

• Hello,

I am new with OLAP

I have almost followed all steps to create cube in BI.

But when i click on process button i got the following error.

The project could not be deployed to the 'localhost' server because of the following connectivity problems : A connection cannot be made. Ensure that the server is running. To verify or update the name of the target server, right-click on the project in Solution Explorer, select Project Properties, click on the Deployment tab, and then enter the name of the server.

I think this error occurs because ssas is not configured in my system. (i have checked it under configuration tab in Microsoft SQL Server 2008 R2).

Can anyone guide me i am correct with this or not and also please do let me know how can i upgrade my sql server 2008 r2 for ssas?

Thanks.

• Sounds like you need to install Analysis Server.

I would verify which version - 2008 R2 or 2014, they are different.

And I would also do this in a test environment, not production.

If running SSAS and SQL on the same machine, you will have some additional configuration considerations.

• sparikh (5/19/2014)

Hello,

I am new with OLAP

I have almost followed all steps to create cube in BI.

But when i click on process button i got the following error.

The project could not be deployed to the 'localhost' server because of the following connectivity problems : A connection cannot be made. Ensure that the server is running. To verify or update the name of the target server, right-click on the project in Solution Explorer, select Project Properties, click on the Deployment tab, and then enter the name of the server.

I think this error occurs because ssas is not configured in my system. (i have checked it under configuration tab in Microsoft SQL Server 2008 R2).

Can anyone guide me i am correct with this or not and also please do let me know how can i upgrade my sql server 2008 r2 for ssas?

Thanks.

You need to install Analysis Services, that's for sure.