Obfuscated but readable data

• I'm looking for ideas from the group, not sure where this post belongs but here goes...

As a consultant, I would like to demonstrate some of my existing apps to prospective customers, but I don't want to show them real customer data. The goal is basically to obfuscate people's last names and company names, but if you simply replace letters randomly you get gibberish, for example by moving each letter forward by one letter of the alphabet

MITCHELL becomes NJUDIFNN

My second thought was to replace consonants with consonants, and vowels with vowels, like this

MITCHELL becomes NOVDJIMM

The problem is that the English language has "digrams" and "trigrams" which are multi-letter combinations like th, sh, nd, ll, rr, tch, and so forth. If there was a way to recognize those digrams and replace them in the same manner as my 2nd idea above, that "should" produce obfuscated but readable names.

I've Google'd obfuscation but most articles relate to protecting the program code, not the data.

Any ideas would be most appreciated.

TIA,

Bill Mitchell

• If you're worried about people seeing the data - don't use a pattern. Especially if you're handing that stuff out on "demo CD's". Patterns are altogether easy to pick up, and some people do substitution codes naturally, to a degree that they'd be able to pick out the pattern pretty much naturally.

Personally - i would NOT start with existing data. Period. I don't want the exposure of being accused of not "obscuring" the data enough.

If you're hell-bent on starting from "real" data:

- For names you'd want to look at a names table, and randomly assign last and first names on top of the "real names". There are publicly available tables of first and last names (one I remember seeing somewhere on the Census Bureau's web site) you could use for that.

- random 9-digit generator to replace SSN/phone numbers/TIN/EIN/ etc....

- again - some random generator to come up with address lines.