Newbie AlwaysOn Questions

• We're refreshing our infrastructure and I want to take advantage of the situation to finally set up a high-safety/disaster recovery model for our databases. We are a small shop and don't see high volumes of traffic, but the data we store is of great importance and we can't afford much downtime. We're upgrading fro 2008 to 2012/14, and I'm pretty new to the dedicated DBA role, so I have a few questions I hope everyone here can help answer.

1. Does every AlwaysOn solution require windows clustering to be set up?

2. Is the 2-node support in Standard enough reason for upgrade to Enterprise? I was originally thinking of having one production box and one or two mirrors with auto failover.

3. Is a simple mirroring solution (with a witness) still an option, despite being deprecated? Is there a reason for an org our size not to do this? It seems like AlwaysOn requires a more significant investment of hardware and licenses.

I want to get this right the first time, so I'll gladly accept any advice you can provide.

Thanks for the help!

• Mark Harley (10/30/2014)

We're refreshing our infrastructure and I want to take advantage of the situation to finally set up a high-safety/disaster recovery model for our databases. We are a small shop and don't see high volumes of traffic, but the data we store is of great importance and we can't afford much downtime. We're upgrading fro 2008 to 2012/14, and I'm pretty new to the dedicated DBA role, so I have a few questions I hope everyone here can help answer.

1. Does every AlwaysOn solution require windows clustering to be set up?

2. Is the 2-node support in Standard enough reason for upgrade to Enterprise? I was originally thinking of having one production box and one or two mirrors with auto failover.