Need help parsing HTML data stored as varchar(max)!!!!

• Hi guys,

I am a bit new to this, but here is my question-

How do i recursively parse through HTML data stored as one unique record and extract each occcurence of a special character?

For Example-

Create table #A(ID int , Content vacrhar(max)

Insert into #A(1, <a href="Some text #id = 'AB123'> sometext </a> <a href = "Some text #id ='BC234'>sometext</a>)

Insert into #B(1, <a href="Some text #id = 'XY234'> sometext </a> <a href = "Some text #id ='JKL11'>sometext</a>)

I only need all the occurences of data after text #id , i.e. AB123 , BC234 etc

Im able to use the Substring and PATINDEX function to succesfully retrieve the first instance-AB123

select SUBSTRING(a.content,

PATINDEX('%text#id=%', a.content) +7, 6)

from #A a

But how do 'move' the pointer so that it moves to the next occurence BC234.

I would like to know if it is possible and if so which functions to use.

Thanks

• Before trying to resolve this issue one question:

Would it be possible to store the data in xml format instead of html?

Reason:

String parsing is dangerous since it might lead to unexpected results.

How would you successfully parse the following html string?

<a href="Some text #id = 'text #id =123'"> sometext </a> <a href = "Some text #id ='JKL11'">sometext</a>

Lutz
    A pessimist is an optimist with experience.

How to get fast answers to your question[/url]
    How to post performance related questions[/url]
    Links for Tally Table [/url] , Cross Tabs [/url] and Dynamic Cross Tabs [/url], Delimited Split Function[/url]

• @Imu- Yes i could, i have not done it before, but if it can be simply stored using a cast or convert function then i could as i simply have to retrive the text, i can modify the source data.

As to your second question-i am not sure i can definitely obtain the first text value retreving the second, third etc is more challenging as i am pretty unfamiliar with using pointers and text.